IMA Honors Mike Donnelly with Karen Renk Award

MINNEAPOLIS Sept. 29, 2020 – The Incentive Marketing Association (IMA) honored Mike Donnelly, CPIM, president, Hinda Incentives, with the Karen Renk Award during the recent IMA Virtual Summit Awards ceremony last week. The prestigious award was established in 2014 to honor Renk, who served as the IMA executive director for its first 14 years. 

Active in the incentive industry for over 35 years, Donnelly was recognized for his leadership and unwavering commitment to the industry. He has served on the IMA board and with related industry organization boards such as the Incentive Federation Inc. Donnelly has been a mentor to many and readily shares his passion for the industry. He is always willing to share his experience and help make sure there will be others to follow in the footsteps of today’s industry leaders. 
Upon accepting the award, Donnelly cited the importance of Karen’s Renk’s attributes and his personal connection to them, even though he had not met her. “Leadership is action, not position. I think that’s one of the things the IMA offers us all is the opportunity to help each other out,” Donnelly said. “You get so much more back than you ever give. I hear that when I talk to others in the IMA and that is definitely true in my case,” Donnelly added. 

Karen Renk guided the IMA, championed the business case for incentives and mentored a wide group of individuals for the betterment of the industry and the association. She was known for several qualities including mentoring, character, collaboration, and professionalism. The Karen Renk Award is given to the IMA member who best exemplifies these qualities in service to the association, either through their work within the organization or through outreach to the community at large.

Donnelly becomes the sixth recipient of the Karen Renk Award. Previous recipients are: 
  • 2015 – Sean Roark, CPIM, PromoPros/IncentPros 
  • 2016 – Heidi Chatfield, CPIM, All Star Incentive Marketing
  • 2017 – Brian Dunne, CPIM, Giftcard.Consulting
  • 2018 – Michelle M. Smith, CPIM, CRP, speaker, author, strategist 
  • 2019 – Cindy Mielke, CPIM, Tango Card, Inc.  
View the full list of award recipients or watch the video on the IMA website

About the Incentive Marketing Association
The Incentive Marketing Association (IMA) connects members from leading companies across the marketplace to create a unified voice and growth for the incentive industry. IMA is the umbrella organization for the Incentive & Engagement Solution Providers (IESP), Incentive Gift Card Council (IGCC), Incentive Manufacturers & Representatives Alliance (IMRA), Incentive Travel Council (ITC), and IMA Europe. IMA members have the expertise, leading brands and services to help companies improve their business with recognition, reward and engagement programs.


Contact:  Ione Terrio ● ● 952-928-4649